Economic Integration Among D-8 Muslim Countries: Prospects and Challenges

Ahmed M Khalid (Editor), R. James Ferguson (Editor), M. Niaz Asadullah (Editor)

Research output: Book/ReportScholarly editionResearchpeer-review


The D-8 (Developing Eight) organisation was officially formed in 1977 and has Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan and Turkey as full members. The D-8 economies encompass nearly 62% of the Muslim population or about 1.17 billion people globally. The economic, cultural, social, political and geographical diversity that exists amongst the D-8 member countries differs radically from other Muslim or regional blocks. Furthermore, D-8
member countries are developing economies that do not solely rely on oil, ancient civilizations, or roles as historical powerhouses, but their populations aspire to be better educated, scientifically more advanced, have higher incomes and improved human rights. It is imperative to study the implications of these developments for cultural identity and life quality. This book studies the contemporary socio-economic developments and challenges faced by D-8 countries.
It explores questions on the socio-economic and political formation, sustainability, economic participation, and the vitality of the D-8 member countries. It deepens our understanding of recent global economic systems and governance, and suggests areas for future research and publications.
Original languageEnglish
Place of PublicationSingapore
PublisherWorld Scientific Publishing
Number of pages450
ISBN (Print)978-981-124-780-4
Publication statusPublished - 1 Mar 2023

Publication series

NameWorld Scientific–Economic Growth Centre Contemporary Series in Modern Economy
PublisherWorld Scientific


Dive into the research topics of 'Economic Integration Among D-8 Muslim Countries: Prospects and Challenges'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this