Law and Society Association (External organisation)

Activity: MembershipCommittees, Boards and Panelists


John Hope Franklin Prize Committee

Additional information

The John Hope Franklin Prize was established in 2010 by the Law and Society Association to recognize exceptional scholarship in the field of Race, Racism and the Law. The award is awarded annually and is named for John Hope Franklin, a professor of history and law whose interdisciplinary research documented the history of racism and its effects, whose scholarship had both national and international influence, and whose commitments to intellectual freedom, professional service, and civic activism were resolute. The Franklin Prize is awarded for an article published in the two calendar years prior to the award year. The competition is open to all forms of law and society scholarship, to authors at any stage of their careers, and to authors from any country of origin.
The committee members are listed below.
Chair: Professor Tanya Hernandez, Fordham (Law)
Professor Sahar Aziz, Rutgers (Law)
Professor Wendy Greene, Washington and Lee (Law)
Professor Deborah Archer, NYU (Law)
Judge Dennis Davis, UCT (South Africa) (Law)
Ms. Narelle Bedford, Bond (Australia) (Law)
Period1 Jan 20201 Jan 2021
Held atLaw and Society Association, United States
Degree of RecognitionInternational